Big turnout for Captains Joe and Cathy.

Blacklion members turned out in force to welcome 2017 Captains Joe McHugh and Cathy McCabe at their drive-in. Mulled wine and “foosies” preceded President Mel McLoughlin’s introduction of the new Captains to prolonged applause. Captain Joe was grateful to 2016 Captain Eugene Walsh for giving him the opportunity to take on such a prestigious role. He welcomed all and hoped everyone would have an enjoyable golfing year. He thanked the ladies for the wine and cakes, had sampled both and could attest to their excellence. He encouraged members to enter competitions and urged recruitment of new members. He was confident the club would prosper with such a committed membership. On the first tee, both Cathy and Joe launched impressive drives down the fairway to ringing cheers.

At the presentation of prizes, Joe thanked Frank Martin for organising the raffle, paid tribute to Kevin McPartland and Peter Cumisky, the competition secretaries for their untiring work behind the scenes and thanked Dolores and her staff for the sumptuous meal; the club was fortunate to have such a facility and encouraged members to give Dolores their support. Competition secretary Peter Cumisky then announced the winners of the drive-in and the spring league.


1. Kevin McPartlan and Geraldine Creamer   32

Mel McLoughlin and Kathleen Leonard 34.75

Men’s competition.   Gerry Connaire      22

The spring league was tightly contested with teams 1 and 5 qualifying from the semi-finals but the final really went to the wire: both teams recorded 12 points and the dreaded countback was called for with team 5 triumphing by virtue of having won more holes. The winning captain Gareth McMorris thanked the losing team for a wonderful match and their sportsmanship in defeat. He recorded his appreciation of the greenkeepers who had performed heroically to get the course playable and paid tribute to his team – Jim Leonard, Peter Robinson, Patsy McCorry, Anthony Collins and Fred Potter – who had shown up every week and had led from start to finish.

Jude Morris was presented with the O’Hare Cup and Roly Curran with the Conway Cup, while Gerry Logue presented the framed pennant of the Ulster Fourball winners to President Mel for display in the clubhouse. After an unprecedented year in team competitions, the work for 2017 starts now.

Paul McKenna won sweep 7 with 33 points.

Captain Joe thanked everyone for their attendance and the New Year celebrations began