Wins for Robert and Joe

There was a big turnout for the Hugh McCabe Memorial Cup in memory of one of the stalwarts of the club. The competition was tightly contested, but Robert Barry was top scorer with 44 points. Jude Morris – a long-time absentee from the podium – was runner-up with 42 points with Brian Love in 3rd place on 41 points. Kevin McPartland took the gross prize with Frank Martin and Gaby Fee winning the nines.

In the July Monthly Medal, scores were equally impressive:

1 Joe McHugh                      66

2 Kevin McPartland             67

3 Darren Boyle                      68

Gross: Jimmy Donovan

Nines: Gerry Gilmartin and Gareth McGovern

Blacklion’s All-Ireland Fourball team has progressed to the quarter-final stage where they will meet Mourne GC.

Noel and Barry’s perfect day.

A pristine course, wall to wall sunshine and top-quality golf from so many contributed to the perfect Captain’s Day for Noel Melanaphy.

After 18 holes, sixteen players with a net score of 72 or better assembled for the traditional 9-hole shoot-out by shotgun start. Having shot a net 67 on the first 18 holes, Barry McGrory had a nightmare start on the final nine by launching his tee shot out of bounds. Supported by his playing partners, Barry recovered and added a net 36.5. Was this enough? Back room staff studied counted and recounted and Peter Cumisky finally arrived with the results.

Before the presentation, club President Mel McLoughlin introduced Noel to the large attendance saying that Noel had hardly left the club in his first six months in the role. His work ethic was extraordinary and he had proved to be an inspiring Captain.

Noel thanked Mel for his kind remarks and made special mention of the council – no one really appreciated the effort the backroom staff put in to make this day special. He was especially appreciative of all the members who had turned out with rakes and strimmers to ensure the course was in good order. Gaby and Francis had performed miracles on the course and he had never seen it look better. Lady Captain Vera and the ladies were acknowledged for the clubhouse flowers and the display of prizes as well as all their assistance throughout the year. He had been a member since 1992 having been introduced to the game by Aidan Melanaphy and convinced by Paddy Maguire that he was fortunate to achieve membership of the club. He thanked Dolores and Linda for the sumptuous meal served with a smile. Finally, he thanked his wife Jacinta and his family for their support for this special day.

After prolonged applause, he asked Peter Cumisky to announce the prize-winners.

Lady Captain Vera Waters, who won the ladies’ prize asked Noel for the names of the saints to whom he had prayed for good weather as she wanted something similar for her Captain’s Day. She complimented Noel on his fine array of prizes and thanked her playing partners for her support.

The tension rose as Peter Cumisky announced that the Captain’s prize had gone to countback with Barry McGrory winning by that narrowest of margins.

Michael warms up for Captain’s Day.

Club Captain Noel Melanaphy showed the quality required to win his Captain’s prize when he shot 42 points for runner-up spot in last week’s stableford competition. Ronan McCabe continued his fine form with 41 points but the star of the week was Michael McGuigan. Michael took third place in the June monthly medal a fortnight ago but his 44 points not only won the competition but made him one of the favourites for the Captain’s prize.

The time sheet has been well-filled and the draw for the big day takes place on Wednesday 20th June at 2030. Captain’s day is Saturday 23rd with fine weather forecast and the course in pristine condition. Remember you can’t hit a moving ball!

Hole – in – one for twelve-year-old Eoin.

Blacklion youth golfers meet on Saturdays at 9am and the standard of play gets better week by week. Last week however, 12-year-old Eoin Corrigan raised the bar a bit higher when he recorded a hole-in-one on the notoriously difficult 2nd hole. Well done Eoin.

Frank Collins and Jimmy Donovan went head to head in two competitions last week. Jimmy took the spoils in the Seniors’ society outing to Fintona but Frank shot a remarkable 64 to win the June Monthly Medal.

Monthly Medal

1 Frank Collins                    64

2 Jimmy Donovan              67

3 Michael McGuigan         69

Seniors’ Society

1 Jimmy Donovan

2 Frank Collins

3 Frank Martin

Jim wins Bush Cup.

Blacklion’s second major, the Bush Cup attracted a strong field with Jim Leonard scoring a fine 69 to take the cup. Ronan McCabe and Jason McLaughlin both shot 70 but Jason took the runner-up spot on countback. The perennial gross prize winner was Kevin McPartland with a 78 off a handicap of three. Memories of Vincie McGovern and bars on holes one, three and six were remembered fondly by the senior club members and it was fitting to see the competition still held in high regard.

The All-Ireland fourball team had a 3.5 – 1.5 win over a very sporting Lisburn side. The overall score was 7 – 3 and Blacklion progress to the next round.

This week’s competition is the June Monthly Medal.

Greenkeeper Gaby wins again.

As greenkeeper, Gaby Fee knows the Blacklion course like the back of his hand. However, knowing the course and scoring well do not always go together but last week Gaby produced another fine display to win the stableford 5 competition with 38 points. Jimmy Donovan was runner-up on countback with Eamon Flynn in 3rd place with 37 points.

Darren Boyle led his Lawson Cup team to an impressive away victory in Strabane. Blacklion are 9 holes up after  winning 12 – 4.

May monthly medal for McGrath

After a lengthy absence from prize-winning, James McGrath returned to form with an impressive net 67 to win the May monthly medal. Garett McGovern was runner-up on 68 while Darren Boyle continued his purple patch with a third place on 70. Playing off a handicap of 3, Kevin McPartland won the gross prize with a gross 74. Winners of the nines were Francis O’Reilly and Stephen Garvey.

This week’s competition is Stableford 5.

Ronan wins Blacklion’s first major.

Members turned out in force for what has become Blacklion’s first major – the Neven Maguire Golf Classic. With some fantastic prizes on offer, Ronan McCabe produced some classical golf to win with 43 points. Paul Ferguson was runner-up on 40 points with Gaby Fee in third place with 39 points. Special mention must go to Frank Martin for a top ten finish – practice does pay!

Top scoring continued in the Stableford 4 competition with countback again coming into play. After scrutiny, the runner-up spot went to Darren Boyle with Jimmy Donovan edged into third place on 39 points. Top spot went to Barry McGrory with 43 points.

This week’s competition is the May Monthly Medal

Jimmy takes medal.

After playing good golf on the weekend away and a couple of near misses in the first few competitions, Jimmy Donovan won the April Monthly medal with a net 70. Mark Connolly and Donal Flanagan both shot 71 with Mark winning on countback.

Ronan returns to the top.

With a week of good weather, the course has undergone its usual spring clean. The greens have been spiked and sanded and a general tidy-up by green keepers and volunteers is well underway.

Captain Noel Melanaphy’s weekend away was a great success. Darren Boyle was the top golfer with Francis O’Reilly and Jimmy Donovan close behind. No further details are available – a case of what happens on the tour stays on the tour!

Last weekend’s Belcoo GAA Classic was won by Gaby Fee, Joe Maes, Niall McGovern and Jim Leonard.

Ronan McCabe returned to form with a fine 37 points to win the stableford 3 competition. Darren Boyle was runner-up with 36 points while Stephen Garvey edged out Jimmy Donovan on countback – both shot 35 points.

This week’s competition is the April Monthly Medal