Patsy wins President’s prize.

Over 60 members and visitors turned out for Mel McLoughlin’s President’s prize. The morning starters enjoyed good weather conditions but the afternoon brought heavy rain. Gerry Hickey made the most of his early start by recording a two on the second, eleventh and fifteenth holes.

Gerry Hickey on the tee

At the presentation of prizes, Club Captain Noel Melanaphy introduced President Mel as a stalwart of the club now in his third year of presidency.

His work for the club, his support for all the teams and his generosity as a sponsor were legendary.

In response, Mel emphasised the spirit in the club. It was an honour and a privilege to represent a club which had such commitment. Larger clubs were amazed at the fighting spirit of the teams and their success was on-going. He paid tribute to the backroom staff for their tireless work behind the scenes and made special mention of the greenkeepers for ensuring the course was in tip-top condition. He thanked the ladies for their continuing commitment to the club and singled out Dolores and her team of caterers: when the weather put the kybosh on the barbecue, they produced a sumptuous meal at short notice. Finally, he thanked his family for their support and encouragement which had made this day so special.

Competition secretary Peter Cumisky then announced the prize-winners. Rosie Dolan, the ladies’ prize winner was thrilled to receive her beautiful prize. She thanked her playing partners and greenkeepers Gaby Fee and Francie Carson for the fine condition of the course.

The young and the not-so-young: Tommy O’Connor and Donall Flanagan, having finished their round

To tremendous applause, Patsy McCorry was announced as the president’s prize-winner for 2018. Patsy had been trying for over 20 years to win a Captain’s or President’s prize and was amazed and delighted that it had finally happened. He had gone out with little expectation having played in the west coast challenge over the previous three days. As a tired golfer he expected one of the young guns to win but he was sure that this win would inspire some of the senior golfers to take on the youngsters. He complimented Mel on his prizes and reminded members of the foresight of Mel as a Captain. He was an outstanding President.

Celebrations may still be continuing.

President’s Prize winners.

President’s Prize         Patsy McCorry               39

Runner-up                    Paul Ferguson               39

3rd                                  Gerry Hickey                  38

Gross                             Kevin McPartland

Past Captain                 Frank McCabe                37

Front 9                           Brian Love                       21

Back 9                            Kevin McPartlan             20

Ladies’ Prize                  Rosie Dolan                     71

Runner-up                     Geraldine McGrory        74

Please follow & like us :)